Drawing the Wind

IMG_20150331_163022

The motion of air is something everyone is familiar with, but it is something we cannot physically see. Instead, we only see its effects on other tangible objects in the environment. We can see tree branches swaying, kites flying, and our hair flowing in the wind, but most of the time many of us do not take the time to think about the invisible forces that cause these movements. Because we cannot see it, we tend to describe wind by what it does rather than what it actually is. We have preconceived notions about what it looks like in our minds although in reality it is invisible.

Part of the first assignment in the LA303 design class of the spring 2015 quarter sought to create drawings of the wind. I chose to draw the wind and sounds I experienced in my front yard. Different times of the day evoked different emotions and produced different drawings. For my pieces, I used a variety of pens, pencils, markers, and acrylic paints to help me create a translation of my experience. To translate the subtle wind textures, I used the pens and pencils. Stronger gusts of wind called for heavier line weights. Markers were best for this. More prominent sounds such as cars screeching and airplanes zooming by were translated as smears of paint. After the first drawing, I felt that the next two would probably be similar. To my surprise, the character of each drawing was quite different. I realized then that the wind has many faces.

Leave a Reply

